Jaisalmer Day 2

19.10.12.

My intentions to wake up early and meditate always fall short when I wake up to the heat of the 10am sun. You must wake up early to catch temperatures below 25C. However, I popped up to the rooftop and smashed out some push ups and a quick morning meditation session. I feel tip top. I need some me time so head out to buy my goods for the desert safari and to see the beauties that Jaisalmer has to offer alone.
8122397155_17e62391db_mI see temples, old haveli’s once occupied by Jai Singh and lots and lots of textiles shops. I sink chi after chi trying to get the best deals for my scarf, trousers and shirts. The desert heat and wind at night means I must cover from the sun, sand and the cold at night.

The Jaisalmer textile shop haggle system revealed: Buying clothes in England is relatively easy, no hassles. India however, is a completely different ball game. Firstly you are hassled into the shop with the usual questions, how are you and where you are from? If they think you are rich and spend happy, then they will offer a complimentary chi. They sit you down and tell you to relax, whilst they give you lots of items that you don’t need but they will receive high profit on. Once you’ve told them repeatedly you are not a rich person and you have no job they pull out the ‘wear it once and it falls apart’ range. These clothes will last a few weeks if you are lucky. But this is what I need. However, the price they quote you is still extremely high. The haggle starts.

If you adopt a smile this usually goes well and with a little threat of going elsewhere they dip to the minimum tourist price. However, I often tell them I want to look at a few stores before I actually buy. This makes the sales people very angry and upset. Even once the lowest price is achieved I walk away with a promise of coming back later. It’s my right to say ‘no’ but the sales person tries to stop you leaving. It’s intense but you have to be strong if you seriously don’t want to buy the item, only buy what you want.

True story: I returned to one shop in the morning, he refused to serve me as I may not buy his products therefore giving him bad luck for the entire day. It’s a funny game, but if your target audience are tourists, maybe, just maybe, you should try to understand them a little more. I bought a shirt from the shop next door and showed him, stating the very cheap price I paid for it.

Rant over with, we visit the lassi store and get an early nights sleep. Meow.

Leave a Reply

